Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.04.00 pm

PLN and Connectivness is Awesome! #EduFriends

Again, Twitter and my PLN has blown me away with its awesomness!

As ICT Lead Teacher I had to lead an assembly and chose the Internet as my umbrella topic. My goal was to express both the ability to connect through the internet as well as make sure that students were aware of how to use the Internet safely and sensibly.

Part 1 – Teacher Quiz
10 simple questions. Two teachers. One teacher has a stack of reference books where all the questions came from. Other teacher has no books, looks sad so is allowed to use Google on their phone.
Result – A few good laughs and students get to see the power of a directed internet search in action.

Part 2 – The connection (This is what it is all about!)
How do you show kids about the true connectiveness of the internet? Sure they have all Skyped a family member overseas, but how could I show them in 1 or 2 minutes?

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 3.48.05 pm

A simple tweet, and maybe a few directed spam tweets, and the ball was set in motion. I was humbled by the replies and the time and effort that was put into the project. Instantly there were promises of a video or a quick video taken in the playground. I had replies from people I was not even following and so new connections were made.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.32.24 pm

Below is the compilation video. I am sorry that not all clips are included, but my computer was fighting with me and not all of the clips wanted to go into iMovie for some reason. But thank you to @NZWaikato @mrs_hyde @mrkempnz @KleinErin @BowlerSarah @jedipadmaster @SamAllison06 @21stCTeaching @MsBeenz @PalmyTeacher @room_ten @tewakatroy @chiaoyinanita @ChezVivian @tsbray @lesal38 @mjbuckland and of course the star of the show… @GrogtheZombie.
(If I have missed you off this list then I am sorry – DM me and I will correct instantly as you are awesome and I am sorry for missing you out, but thankful for your existence!)

Part 3 – Cyber Safety
As most of the students play online games with back channel chat options I chose to show the video I have embedded below. I must say that I removed about 6 seconds of the clip towards the end as I think that I would have had the year 1 classes in tears.
Result – Enjoyable to watch, appropriate to the audience, students become more aware of cyber safety.

Leave a Reply

