4 thoughts on “Classroom Blogging: Solving a problem and rebooting the process

  1. I’m forever falling foul of the same impulse. Tries to introduce kidblog, edmodo and an Irish kids’ news site, clicnews, all at the same time. The blogging was a success, edmodo less so as I wasn’t finding the time to model effectively.
    I think what you’re saying about the quality of student comments is interesting: it’s a hard point to get across and one I need to work on.
    It’s interesting as well that not all of the ‘digital natives’ in front of us are actually that skilled. It’s more that their expectations for the technology is higher.
    Interesting post as ever – sometimes it’s a relief to know I’m not the only one making mistakes…

    1. If we are not making mistakes, then we are not learning, just repeating what we already know 🙂
      I really like to moderate comments with my students and discuss what makes a successful comment and what makes a poor comment – has to have basic punctuation, needs to be a positive comment and needs to have more than just ‘Great’ or ‘Epic’ or ‘Wicked’.

  2. Not only a great self-reflection here, but a mature realization of what’s happening in your classroom. I, too, find myself taking big bites and struggling to “juggle” all that’s on my plate. It’s refreshing to see other educators who have done the same thing, and have taken the “I-can-do-this” approach rather than the “we-failed-let’s-stop” approach. You are doing more for your students than you may ever quite possibly know by reevaluating what you’re doing and making the necessary changes. What a great example for those young thinkers! Seeing a teacher take risks as you have done would only encourage me as a student. I hope you continue to post your journey, your successes and failures, as it is beneficial beyond your classroom walls!

    1. Thank you for you extremely kind words. I am a firm believer that to be a teacher you must also be a learner and to me the most important part of learning is the reflection and re-evaluation process.

Leave a Reply

